Too Much Culture

“Food” For Thought…

Posted in Uncategorized by tneenan on 09/19/2010

How valuable is art? What is the value of things we create? Below is a story that perfectly examines the value of what an artist creates…

Picasso was sitting in a Paris café when an admirer approached and asked if he would draw a quick sketch on a napkin in front of him. Picasso agreed, drew his pen and quickly executed the work. He then handed back the napkin, but not before asking the man to give him an enormous amount of money. The admirer could not believe what he was hearing. “How can you demand this much money from me, this drawing took you but  matter of second.” “No”, Picasso replied “It took me 40 years.” “No” replied the admirer, “It took you a few seconds, I just saw you draw it.” “No” said Picasso, “I meant it took me forty years to learnt o draw this well.” “Can I just have the napkin?” asked the admirer. “No, listen, I’m saying that…” “Can I have the napkin or not?” Asked the admirer again. “Just listen for a second…” Replied Picasso “Its just I don’t want to pay that much for a napkin.” “No” interrupted Picasso “You’re not really getting the spirit of what I’m trying to tell you…” “that’s a ridiculous amount of money for a napkin.” Posited the admirer. “There!” said Picasso, dipping the drawing in his coffee, “now nobody gets the f*cking napkin.”

Money-grabbing doodle-monger Pablo Picasso

Leave a comment